Benchmark Senior Living Vice President of Resident Care Honored with 2024 McKnight’s Women of Distinction Veteran VIP Award

Elizabeth Wheatley, CRRN, Named Veteran VIP Honoree for Senior Living Industry Commitment & Excellence

Benchmark, the largest senior housing provider in New England, today announced that Elizabeth Wheatley, CRRN, vice president of resident care, has been named a Veteran VIP in the 2024 McKnight’s Women of Distinction awards, a joint program of McKnight’s Long-Term Care News, McKnight’s Senior Living and McKnight’s Home Care.

Now in its sixth year, the award program recognizes women who have made significant contributions to the senior living, skilled nursing or home care fields. Veteran VIPs have more than 15 years of experience in their respective industry and have a leadership role in which they’ve demonstrated an exceptional commitment through their accomplishments.

Wheatley, who lives in Wayland, Mass., was selected following judging by an external panel of industry experts. She joined Benchmark in 2021 overseeing all aspects of resident care, including social engagement and memory care programs, for Benchmark’s 65 communities throughout the Northeast.

Wheatley has more than 35 years of senior living industry experience, including serving as vice president of health and wellness and corporate director of clinical service for Five Star Senior Living for almost two decades. She began her healthcare career in 1981 as an administrator for a rehabilitation provider and later earned a bachelor’s degree in nursing from the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences where she graduated Summa Cum Laude.

She is an advisory board member for the National Center for Assisted Living and previously served on Argentum’s Clinical Quality Roundtable.

Since Wheatley joined the company, Benchmark communities have earned more than 100 U.S. News & World Report Best Senior Living awards for excellence in care, resident programs and other aspects of community life.

All winners will be honored at an in-person celebration on May 14 in Chicago. To see the full list of inductees, and for more information about the program, visit